Winners of the 2020 Tackling Economic Crime Awards announced

Posted on 11 December, 2020 by Advance 

The winners of the second edition of the Tackling Economic Crime Awards (TECAs) were announced on Wednesday 9th December at a virtual awards show where 450 representatives from across the financial crime sector tuned in to celebrate the outstanding achievements of all the finalists and winners.

Image copyright Shutterstock

The winners were selected by an esteemed panel of judges and the awards were presented in 11 categories to public, private and third sector organisations and individuals who had made a significant impact in desisting all areas of economic crime.

Professor Martin Gill, founder of the TECAs, commented: “We were delighted to hold the presentation of the TECAs for the second year - all be it virtually - to recognise the sector’s achievements at the end of such a challenging year. All the finalists and especially the winners should be proud. The judging process is strict and robust; each judge marks independently against a set of criteria, and they commit to declaring any conflict of interest. Each entry must achieve a fixed score threshold to become a finalist, ensuring consistent quality across the competition, which means all the finalists – individuals, teams and companies represent outstanding performance of the highest level.”

2020 Award Winners:

Outstanding Team
Zurich Insurance Intelligence Team

Outstanding Customer Service Initiative
Hertfordshire Constabulary & Catch 22 – Beacon Victim Care Initiative

Outstanding Training Initiative
Lloyds Banking Group – Fraud & Financial Crime Training Initiative

Outstanding New Product
Zurich Insurance – Carpe Data Counter Fraud Solution for Zurich Insurance

Outstanding Partnership
BAE Systems & Zurich Partnership

Outstanding Investigator
Dave Perry – HMRC

Outstanding Young Professional
Zac Barrett – HMRC FIS Cybercrime

Outstanding Female Professional
Claire Jenkins FCCA – Companies House

Outstanding Male Professional
Philip Juhasz – Hertfordshire Shared Anti-Fraud Service

Outstanding Prevention Initiative
Scam Marshals – National Trading Standards Scams Team

Lifetime Achievement
Katy Worobec

The event organisers would like to thank all those who helped make the TECAs such a success including: associations and their representative judges; ACFE, Cabinet Office, Cifas, CIPFA, City of London Police, Fraud Advisory Panel, H I Counter Fraud Group, Insurance Fraud Bureau, London Fraud Forum, NAFN, North East Fraud Forum, NHS Counter Fraud Authority, RUSI, Serious Fraud Office, UK Finance and University of Portsmouth.