The Air League celebrates UK aviation and aerospace excellence

Posted on 21 September, 2021 by Advance 

The Air League has recognised a number of remarkable individual achievements that have made an outstanding contribution to British aviation and aerospace at its Annual Reception held earlier this month at the Terrace Pavilion, House of Commons, Palace of Westminster.

Image courtesy The Air League

A number of individuals and organisations which have made an outstanding contribution to aviation and aerospace in the United Kingdom were recognised for their remarkable achievements, with a series of awards presented by Aviation Minister Robert Courts MP on Wednesday 8th September.

The Air League aims to inspire, enable, and support the next generation of aviation and aerospace professionals from all backgrounds across the UK. The Reception allowed the Air League to welcome, recognise and thank its supporters and partners that help change lives through aviation. Each year thousands of people from around the UK, including disadvantaged youngsters and wounded and injured servicemen and women benefit from Air League support.

The following awards were presented:


Yvonne Pope Sintes
To recognise her outstanding achievements within aviation over her incredible lifetime

The Scott-Farnie Medal

The medal is awarded “for achievement in the field of air education”
The Scott Farnie Medal is awarded to David Pitchforth recognising his long and distinguished career within aviation and aerospace and his selfless commitment in promoting apprenticeships and instigating the Centennial Wings programme

The Jeffrey Quill Medal

The medal is awarded “For an outstanding contribution to the development of air-mindedness in Britain’s youth”
The Jeffery Quill Medal is awarded to both Air Commodore Dawn McCafferty CBE for her selfless commitment to promoting air mindedness to the next generation within the Royal Air Force Air Cadets

The Marshall of Cambridge Medal

The medal is awarded “For exceptional support of the Air League Trust by a recent scholarship winner”
The Marshall of Cambridge Medal is awarded to Bridget Donaldson for her continued support of the Air League and work curating the Air League’s 110th anniversary exhibition at the Royal Air Force Museum

President’s Meritorious Service Award

Sir Roger Bone KCMG
Recognising his service and commitment to the League

The Billy Deacon Search and Rescue Memorial Trophy

Philip Wrenn
For his selfless and meritorious actions

Framed Addresses

Martin Aston and James McMicking
To recognise their efforts to invigorate High Value Design in the United Kingdom

For their ground-breaking development of a zero-emission aircraft

Project Wingman
For their inspiring commitment, dedication, and service to the NHS throughout the COVID-19 pandemic

The Royal Air Force Chinook Force
Recognising its incredible and illustrious 40 years of service

The Prince Philip Flying Scholarship

Venessa Njoki

Soaring to Success Scholars

Milan Gandhi
Elijah Heyns
Abbie Haylock
Caitlin Ryan
Khalid Aziz