Winners of the 2021 TECAs announced

Posted on 7 December, 2021 by Advance 

The winners of the third edition of the Tackling Economic Crime Awards (TECAs) were announced on Monday 6th December at a virtual awards show where representatives from across the financial crime sector tuned in live to celebrate the outstanding achievements of all the finalists and winners.

Image copyright Shutterstock

Founder of the TECAs, Professor Martin Gill hosted the awards and was helped by Alan Dedicoat (known by many as the ‘The Voice of the Balls’), sponsors and judges.

Martin Gill noted that the past 18-months had provided both challenges and opportunities and this year had seen the most entries since the inception of the awards 3 years ago – clearly demonstrating the excellent work that is taking place in the flight against all areas of economic crime.

Commissioner Ian Dyson QPM of the City of London Police made a guest appearance where he reflected on his time as the chief officer lead on economic crime pending his imminent retirement from policing.

The winners were selected by an independent panel of judges, and the awards were presented in 12 categories to public, private and third sector organisations and people.

The 2021 winners are:

Outstanding Team
HMRC Fraud Investigation Service, Cardiff and the Financial Development Team, London

Outstanding Manager or Director
Neil Green - Government Internal Audit Agency

Outstanding Policing Initiative
Economic Crime Operations and Strategy Teams Civil Recovery Workstream - HMRC Fraud Investigation Service

Outstanding Customer Service Initiative
NatWest and Nuance - Tackling Fraud Together

Outstanding Partnership
Joint Money Laundering Intelligence Taskforce (JMLIT) Tax Crime and Evasion Threat Group

Outstanding Training Initiative
DCPCU Protect Team

Outstanding New Product
HSBC Fraud and Cyber Awareness App

Outstanding Investigator
David Campbell - HMRC

Outstanding Prevention Initiative
National Trading Standards Scams Team / Call Blockers

Outstanding Young Professional
Samuel Dean - HMRC

Outstanding Tackling Economic Crime Professional
Claire Jenkins MSc FCCA - Companies House
Lifetime Achievement
Paul Bamford - HMRC

Summaries of all the winners can be viewed on the TECAs
and the awards live stream can be viewed